the last countdown

countdownSo I’ve been counting down to our wedding day for months, sometimes posting about it on Facebook. Eight months to go, five months… one month. But I’ve had a secret the whole time: it’s a fake-out. Oh, the wedding is really on November 9, don’t be silly. But that isn’t the day I’m really anxious for. Secretly, I’ve been aiming a few weeks earlier, for this Saturday, for October 26. That’s the day Dave comes here and then doesn’t go away. At least, not without me.

It’s been three years and about four months since we got together — wonderful times, of course, but also years of goodbyes and counting the days until we see each other again, occasional time zone difficulties and calls, texts, Skype and email. I’ve cried in an airport, at last count, sixty-four times. Every minute we’re together is wonderful and every minute we spend apart I’m looking forward to the next time. And it’s finally done. No more picking him up at the airport and trying not to think about how I’ll be right back there in a few days, dropping him off. No more planning visits. No more goodbyes.

Obviously, we’ll be apart sometimes. Dave still loves Vegas, and I still like to see my friends, and we’ll do things apart, sometimes for a stretch of days. So yes, there’ll be airports and goodbyes in our future, but it’s not the same. Not at all. We won’t ever be leaving each other just to go back to separate homes anymore. From now on, my home will be his home, and his home will be mine, and that’s the place we’ll both always be coming back to, wherever we go. It’s been such a long time coming but we’re finally here, and I couldn’t be happier. So no more countdowns for me, after this weekend. We’re going to have a lovely wedding, but I’ll already have the one thing I’ve wanted all this time.

5 thoughts on “the last countdown

  1. Harry Burns: You take someone to the airport, its clearly the beginning of the relationship. That’s why I have never taken anyone to the airport at the beginning of a relationship.
    Sally Albright: Why?
    Harry Burns: Because eventually things move on and you don’t take someone to the airport and I never wanted anyone to say to me, How come you never take me to the airport anymore?
    Sally Albright: Its amazing. You look like a normal person but actually you are the angel of death.

    I couldn’t resist.

    I am so excited for you and so happy to read this. This is a happiness you so richly deserve. As someone who has had several long distance relationships I remember all too well the goodbyes and time spent trying to squeeze one more day into a visit. It always felt like time was against me and every moment stolen. Happy (almost) October 26th! xoxo

    • Dave quotes me that scene almost every time. 🙂 No resisting necessary.

      Thank you my friend. It’s been hard for too long, but there were some really wonderful times and trips and adventures along the way. Looking forward to more, just with less frequent flying. 🙂

  2. Pingback: thank you, JetBlue | hold on... what am I holding onto?

Leave a Reply

